SPRINGFIELD- The Decatur Park District has been selected to receive $57,500 in state dollars through the Illinois DPDBicycle Path Grant Program, State Senator Doris Turner (D-Springfield) announced Friday.

“This is a great investment for the city of Decatur, especially as we head into the warmer months of the year,” Turner said. “This grant creates an opportunity for safe activities for families and outdoor enthusiasts. It also opens up a new form of transportation for residents, which is a major plus for cyclist.”

The Park District will use the grant funding to acquire 31.7 acres of land located in the northwest portion of Decatur. The land will allow for access to the current 10-foot-wide asphalt bike trail, which is 9.8 miles long with an additional 1.5 miles under development. The added land will help complete the final 2 miles of the Stevens Creek Bikeway.

The Illinois Bicycle Path Grant Program, which is administered by the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, has helped develop nearly 1,000 miles of local government bike trails in Illinois. This year, the program will fund seven bike path projects across the state totaling more than $800,000.

Learn more about the program, eligible projects and the application process here.

Category: Press Releases

SPRINGFIELD- State Senator Doris Turner’s (D-Springfield) plan to add agricultural sciences as a type of course that may be counted towards the requirement for three years of sciences in order to gain admission to an Illinois public university passed the Senate Higher Education Committee Tuesday.

“The study of agriculture is vitally important, and our curricula should reflect that,” said Senator Turner. “The current exclusion as an option for a science course for admission is a huge disservice to students who plan to one day study and/or work in the field.”

Currently, the minimum requirements to gain admission to state universities include the completion of at least 15 units of high school coursework in the following subjects: English, Social studies, Mathematics, (Laboratory) Sciences and electives in either foreign language, music, vocational education, or art.

Currently, some colleges may accept agricultural science under the auspice of a "science course" but not all are doing so. This legislation will add some conformity to the available options.

“This is simply an effort to highlight the importance of agricultural science,” Turner said. “Students should feel confident and passionate about their career choice when choosing to study multidisciplinary sciences.”

The measure passed out of the Senate Higher Education Committee and moves to the Senate for further consideration.

Category: Press Releases


State Senator Doris Turner (D-Springfield) has new district office hours available to the public. Please visit one of the office locations below or call a district advisor for more imformation.

Decatur Office Hours 

(Monday - Thursday)  - 10:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. 

(Friday) - 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. (except for traveling office days) 

Decatur Office 

1210 S. Jasper St. Decatur, IL 62321 

Phone: 217-706-5311

Christian County Traveling Office Hours 

Christian County Traveling Office Hours (2nd & 4th Friday of each month)  

(Friday) - 9:00 a.m. - noon

Christian County Traveling Office  

115 N Main St, Taylorville, IL 62568 - (Second Floor, Directly Next to Council Chambers). 

Carlinville Office Hours

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 8:00 a.m. -4:30 p.m. (with lunch) from 12 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. 

Carlinville Office  

130 East Main Street Suit B 

Phone: 217-854-4502 

Traveling Office Hours for Montgomery & Madison Counties 
nd and 4th Wednesdays of every month: 

9:00 a.m. – noon: Litchfield City Hall Council Chambers - 120 E. Ryder St., Litchfield, IL 62056 (Montgomery)
1:00 p.m. -4:00 p.m.: Worden Village Hall Council Chambers- 115 W. Hall St., Worden, IL 62097 (Madison)

Category: News

Decatur Office:

District Advisor: Karl Coleman

Decatur Office address: 1210 S. Jasper St. Decatur Illinois 62521

Contact Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Traveling Office Hours: 

(9 a.m. – noon) every other Friday beginning this Friday, March 12.

Carlinville Office:

District Advisor: Brian Zilm

OPENING SOON Carlinville Office address: 130 E. Main St., Suite B, Carlinville, IL 62626

Traveling office hours:
First and third Wednesday located at Carlinville City Hall, 550 N. Broad (9 a.m.- noon) – Visit this location until the Carlinville office is open

Traveling Officer Hours:

Second and fourth Wednesday of every month: Litchfield City Hall (9a.m.- noon), and Worden City Hall (1 p.m. – 4 p.m.)

Contact email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Category: News

covid19 button

Food Banks

Follow Sen. Turner


Office Info

Springfield Office:
108D Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-0228

Carlinville Office:
130 East Main Street, Suite B
Carlinville, IL 62626
(217) 854-4502

Decatur Office:
1210 S. Jasper St.
Decatur, IL 62321
(217) 706-5311

eNewsletter Signup

eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.