SPRINGFIELD – State Senator Doris Turner recently announced that, thanks to funds distributed by the Illinois State Board of Education, schools across the 48th District will receive a total of $843,610 for infrastructure improvements.

“Our children deserve top quality accommodations in order to have a fruitful learning experience,” said Turner (D-Springfield). “I’m proud that these much-needed investments will go to benefit school districts, and most importantly, our youth.”

A total of $30 million in 2022 School Maintenance Grants was distributed to districts across the state. To be eligible for the grants, applicants were required to match the state funds and commit to completing proposed projects within two years.

The following school districts have been awarded grant money for 2022:

  • Morrisonville CUSD 1
  • Taylorville CUSD 3
  • Edinburg CUSD 4
  • Pana CUSD 8
  • South Fork SD 14
  • Panhandle CUSD 2
  • Hillsboro CUSD 3
  • Litchfield CUSD 12
  • Nokomis CUSD 22
  • Sangamon Valley CUSD 9
  • Decatur SD 61
  • Carlinville CUSD 1
  • Staunton CUSD 6
  • Southwestern CUSD 9
  • North Mac CUSD 34
  • Rochester CUSD 3A

Projects made possible thanks to these grants include updates to heating and cooling, improvements to ventilation, increased accessibility throughout buildings and more.

“Time and time again, studies have shown that high quality facilities lead to a better quality of education,” said Turner. “These grants will help provide the next generation of students an opportunity to seize their destiny and enrich their lives through education.”

A full list of grantees and awards can be viewed on the ISBE website.